Illinois Rock & Roll Museum on Route 66 Holds Induction Ceremony

By HM staff

The Illinois Rock & Roll Museum held its 2nd annual Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Sunday, June 5, at the Rialto Square Theater in Joliet. According to Ron Romero, the Museum’s Chairman of the Board, the audience truly appreciated seeing several legends in person and hearing so much of their great music. REO Speedwagon’s Kevin Cronin, who was inducted into the Hall of Fame last year, returned this year to provide a very special induction presentation and performance in tribute to Gary Loizzo of American Breed and Pumpkin Studios in the recording studio category. Dennis DeYoung from Styx appeared via video, and Jim Peterik from the Ides of March, and formerly of Survivor, and 38 Special fame, appeared in person.

Both were inducted in the songwriter category. The New Colony Six also appeared and were inducted as a 2022 Hall of Fame Band, as was Styx. The Class of 2022 Hall of Fame Solo Artist inductees were Chuck Berry, Sam Cooke, and Dan Fogelberg. The legendary John Records Landecker was inducted in the DJ category, and trailblazing WXRTFM was inducted in the Radio Station category. Mercury Records, founded in Chicago in 1945, was inducted in the Record Label category. Romero indicated that Hall of Fame Inductees are selected by total votes cast each year by Charter Members of the Illinois Rock and Roll Museum on Route 66. And he reminded everyone that The Illinois Rock & Roll Museum on Route 66 is committed to preserving the rich history and contributions of musicians, performers and industry leaders who have impacted the music world and embodied the creative spirit of Illinois. For more information, visit

*Photos provided by Jim Peterik